Rimarimba - On Dry Land

- Edition of 750 LPs available individually, includes high quality digital download code.

On Dry Land – FTS006LP
  • Side A (33 RPM) 
  • A1. Do Wonders For Me
  • A2. Tacky Travel Tune 
  • A3. Crash 
  • A4. Fairground 
  • A5. Down From The Sky
  • A6. I Wouldn’t Ask
  • A7. Can’t You Feel It 
  • A8. Welsh Water
  • A9. On The Range 
  • A10. Gnats
  • A11. Cacoughanation 
  • Side B (33 RPM) 
  • B1. Sick
  • B2. Spirit 
  • B3. Foulground
  • B4. Machinebeat
  • B5. Beyond Pain
  • B6. Not Enough Time
  • 1. Down From The Sky 
  • 2. I Wouldn't Ask 
  • 3. Welsh Water 
  • 4. Foulground 
  • 5. Machinebeat 


Release Date:
FTS006: June 21, 2019 (digital / physical)

For Rimarimba’s 1984 album On Dry Land, Robert Cox advances along the terrain explored on Below The Horizon. It’s an enchanting album, one which, at times, seems to comment on its own practice; a picture of everyday life in the hobbyist’s, or part-time musician’s, recording studio. Some moments point towards the tourist-explorer aesthetic that would eventually coalesce under the banner of Fourth World music. Other moments where Cox seems to be channelling an otherness, a kind of hauntological reverie, the feeling of music that gives us an uncanny sense of déjà vu. Writer David Keenan’s description of Japanese naïve-pop group Maher Shalal Hash Baz’s music, that it “feels like sketches of places where we once were, places now made poignant by our absence” feels like an alternate take On Dry Land.