Blondes - Blondes

  • Disc 1
  • 01. Lover (6:42)
  • 02. Hater (7:45)
  • 03. Business (8:55)
  • 04. Pleasure (8:55)
  • 05. Wine (6:57)
  • 06. Water (6:56)
  • 07. Gold (9:50)
  • 08. Amber (7:46)
  • Disc 2
  • 01. Lover (A JD Twitch Optimo Mix) (7:59)
  • 02. Lover (Dungeon Acid Remix) (11:32)
  • 03. Hater (SFV Acid's Encino Oaks Remix) (6:19)
  • 04. Business (John Roberts Remix) (5:38)
  • 05. Pleasure (Andy Stott Remix) (7:03)
  • 06. Pleasure (Robert Miles Remix)*
  • 07. Wine (Teengirl Fantasy Remix) (3:34)
  • 08. Water (Bicep Remix) (8:00)
  • 09. Gold (One Blonde Strange Idea by Traxx) (9:56)
  • 10. Gold (Laurel Halo Chains Remix) (5:43)
  • 11. Amber (Variation in Cm by Rene Hell) (6:43)


Release date: February 7th, 2012


If your order contains a pre-order record, it will be held and shipped complete when pre-order stock arrives.

Blondes, the duo of Sam Haar and Zach Steinman, release their self-titled debut album for RVNG Intl.Haar and Steinman met at Oberlin College in 2003, where they studied electroacoustic composition and studio art respectively, and became collaborators in a smattering of short-lived experimental outfits. After graduation and stints apart in Oakland and NYC, Haar and Steinman regrouped in Berlin where Blondes was born, eventually settling on Brooklyn for home base.Blondes quickly evolved from a home studio project to a live experience built around a tactile assemblage of synthesizers, sequencers, and drum machines. The Touched EP (Merok, 2010) demonstrates Haar and Steinman's early interest in an improvisational process that remains embedded in their creative approach, while touching upon their adoration of German composer Manuel Göttsching and his seminal E2-E4 album.

The basement and warehouse venues that curiously welcomed Blondes' syrupy, space-case dance music provided a reactive environment for the duo to develop their sound and work ethic. But as they started playing at nightclubs renowned for their sound systems and ecstatic dance floors, Haar and Steinman realized a potential for their music to resonate at a higher fidelity and deeper frequency, both sonically and spiritually. Blondes' heart aligned with house music in its most liquid form.

A 12" series on RVNG Intl. was initiated in 2011 to document Blondes' evolution. Each record contains a pair of tracks that explore the concept of duality through a personal lens intensely focused on moving the body. The a-side of Lover / Hater is centered upon a Meredith Monk sample, a primal scream signaling Blondes' rebirth.Business / Pleasure confronts the struggle of sustaining individuality in a sinister commercial world and stylistically references Blondes' time spent in the UK. The final 12", Wine / Water, swings on pendulum between excess and restraint while exhibiting the duo's most melodic and mature work thus far.

Available as limited edition vinyl pressings, these six tracks are collected together in album form along with two new offerings, Gold and Amber. Almost entirely improvised and recorded in single takes, Gold and Amber are inspired by complexity and purity, which manifests in the manic energy and bliss of the parallel tracks.

Blondes journey of musical discovery is reflected in a companion disc featuring eleven remixes by friends, peers, and heroes including JD Twitch of OptimoDungeon Acid,SFV AcidJohn RobertsAndy StottTeengirl FantasyBicepTraxxLaurel Halo,Rene Hell, and Robert Miles, whose remix of "Pleasure" is exclusively available on the digital version of the album set.

Blondes is available now as 2xCD and on digital format via RVNG Intl.